5 Things I’ve Learned from “Bachelor Season 20”

Tonight is the finale of ABC’s “Bachelor” Season 20 with Ben Higgins.  For some reason I’ve found this season particularly interesting, so, in honor of that, I’ve decided to make a list of the most interesting lessons from the season.

  1.  One glass of wine (or in some cases the bottle) doesn’t make you more attractive.  This lesson is one that we learn anew each season.  Sometimes the contestants get so nervous (or perhaps bored) and they drink too much.  That’s not to say that you can’t drink whilst dating.  Just be aware that sloppy drunk (or “slammered” as Juliet & Jacoby used to say) isn’t cute on anyone.  Also, do you really want to be with someone who you had to be drunk to be around?
  2. Just because a guy introduces you to his parents doesn’t mean that he’s pledging a long-term relationship to you.  I’ve learned this lesson first-hand.  Very early on when I was dating someone he invited me to hang out with his family.  Things seemed to go well…until he dumped me a couple of weeks later.  The reason that he gave wasn’t completely linked to what his parents thought of me, but it was connected to his comfort level with some of my personal characteristics.  Which brings me to my next point…
  3. It’s important to remember that you are still worth something and not “hard to love” or “unlovable” just because the person you are into at this time isn’t into you.  I know that this lesson can be a hard one to learn, Please try to remember that you are inherently valuable.  No one can add or detract from that.
  4. We are not always as fabulous or as cute as we think.  One benefit of this show is the contestants getting to see what they do/say and how they look when romantic relationships and incredibly awkward situations.  Will they be embarrassed now?  Sure.  But at least they’ll never to that again.
  5. Last but not least, if the person you are dating decides that he is in love with you along with one or two other people, you need to tell him to pound sand.  Can you have feelings for more than one person at a time? Sure.  Can nice people be into multiple people at once? I guess so.  Still, in the real world, because most of us are not in “Bachelor” land, it’s not okay for the person you’re dating to be so involved with multiple people that he or she finds themselves “in love” with both or all of you.  You are too fabulous to have to share.

Leave a comment